I am a time traveler!  No, it was not because I hitched a ride in the TARDIS.  It was because I left for my first flight in America around 5:30 pm, and arrived in New Zealand two days later at 5:30 pm.  The total hours I spent traveling though, was 29—not 48.  

The best time travel moment was when I took the 12 hour flight to New Zealand.  I left just as it was getting dark…and when I arrived, it was still dark for about another 2 hours.  That’s 14 hours of darkness.  According to the map, we literally were flying with the night.
Picture
Around 6:00 AM in Auckland, just after arrival.
Anyways, let me give you a few tips and tricks about travelling with some of my stories in between.  

*Warning* This is a long post.  
PictureThe mountains in LA, just before landing!
First off, I suggest going early to your flight, at least two hours.  The same goes for any layovers.  This is to avoid unwanted stress and confusion, especially if your flight gets delayed in any way or you are lost in the airport.  

Smile and be nice to everyone.  Even if you are in a hurry or frustrated with the family of five that had overweight bags, smile.  Smiling will make you feel better.  

Bring something non-electronic to do during lift-off and landing if you are not fascinated by the incredible science that is what makes these planes fly.  Or if you like to break the “turn off all electronics” sign to take those first pictures of your landing, do that. I watch the the take-off and landing every time.  But, I prefer the take-off.  The landing just isn't as magical.

Get up and walk.  It keeps you from getting stiff and irritable or getting any medical problems (many people have gotten blood clots).  It might annoy your seat-mates--all of mine were wonderful--but it’s well worth it. 

Unless the person is sleeping, warn the passenger behind you when you are going to put the seat back.  I cannot explain the look of pure joy the man behind me got when I warned him.  It made my day.  It is also polite.

Ask these people questions if you are confused: your seat mates, agents, people walking in the terminal, shopkeepers, TSA workers, etc.  You might end up meeting the most wonderful and helpful person ever, like I did.  My final boarding pass was not given to me, so I went up to the desk in NZ to ask for a new one to be printed.  When the agent looked up my flight (and saw my 7 hour layover) she said she could reschedule it, and was fully prepared to arrange calling my Uni, calling a new taxi, and getting my baggage on board.  I kept my flight, but this agent proceeds to print me a new pass, watch my carry on as I check my baggage, and then check my carry on weight.  Then we had a wonderful conversation and she gave me instructions to where I would have to be later on.  She was incredibly kind and happy at 7 am. 
Picture
Auckland international terminal AKA best airport ever (seriously).
PicturePaper airplane art at LA.
Enjoy the scenery.  The mountains while approaching LAX were breathtaking (I had never really seen something like them before).  Take pictures of pretty artwork in the terminals.  

Figure out everything there is to do with your seat and entertainment system on the plane.  I mean, I figured out the remote, foot rest, commands for the screen, etc.  Figuring out/finding each of these killed some time on the flight. Plus it's fun.

TAKE PAIN MEDS.  This is the biggest one tip for me.  If you have reoccurring aches/pains, get headaches easily, or are still new to the travelling experience, pack some in your carry on.  The pressure in the cabins causes some minor swelling.  Combine this with my knee issues and I was near tears at one point from the pain.  I couldn’t sleep, I was fidgeting, I was not enjoying myself.  Then I remembered my pain meds and WHAM!  Sleep for 6 hours!  

Stay hydrated.  Drink water, and a lot.  More water = less headaches = less nausea = happy traveler.

It is awkward exiting a final terminal.  EVERYONE is staring at you hoping that you are their special someone.  The Auckland terminal for me was my re-experience with this unsettling behavior and it’s also where I had a 7 hour layover where I wandered around and hogged the free internet kiosks.  Auckland?  More like Awkland.  

Finally, have fun.  Enjoy it.  By the end of my day, I was dreading the sound and feel of a plane.  I got nauseous from hearing a plane take-off.  Then I sat at the big windows across from the runway for two hours.  I just watched every plane come in and leave.  By the time of my flight, I was excited again, because I realized that I was going to be FLYING at about 500 miles per hour to a place ready to be explored!!!  Talk to people in the terminal or in your seat, too.  You don’t have to tell your life story, but enjoy each other’s presence.  On my long flight, I was in between a Kiwi guy and an American woman (listen what I say-ay).  The guy had no luck at dinner.  His tray was broken and he had to support it with the provided pillow and blanket.  Then his fork went from 4 prongs to 2.  The lady and I look at him each time, feel sorry for about a second, and then giggle hysterically.  He couldn’t help but laugh with us.  Then, on the way to Dunedin, I played trivia with two Kiwi men.  I was told that I was a bit too good at taking answering correctly and having lucky guesses (Thanks Selina for all the practice in Jeopardy!).   It was fun and I am looking forward to a wonderful semester!

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.