Picture
My last full day in Wellington.  Naturally, I returned to the usual tourist attractions that I didn't get a chance to tackle on Friday.  So, I set out with the hopes to visit Zealandia, the Cable Car and Botanic Gardens, the Beehive, and St. Mary of the Angels Church.  I did it all--not as extensively as I would have liked--but I did it all, nonetheless.  Maybe, if the entire city woke up before 9 or 10...I could have gotten more accomplished!

Anyways, the first thing I did was find a bus time to go to Zealandia.  In the hour before I had to pick up the bus, I wandered into the center of the city to find St. Mary of the Angels Church (left).  I didn't get to go in (it was Sunday and the signs were confusing), but the outside was beautiful.  Not getting to see the inside is probably my greatest regret in Wellington.  

Zealandia was beautiful.  Basically, Zealandia is a fenced off region of Wellington where the land has been converted (as best as possible) to its original, pre-European contact state.  It's also a wildlife sanctuary that raises and cares for many threatened and endangered species of plants and animals.  Zealandia is an incredibly beautiful place.  There are tons of birds, especially rare ones.  My three favorite were the beautiful white Shag birds in the artificial wetlands.  There were so many in huge nests by the water.  Next, were the gorgeous kaka parrots.  I saw two.  The first one, the tour guide was talking about beautiful black parrots that like special feeders that they made.  Unfortunately, there were none at the feeder.  She told us, if we were quiet, that one might show up.  None came.  As we kept walking, I was looking up and saw a black bird with bright red feathers under its wings soar across the treetops.  "Excuse me," I asked, "but, are kaka birds large with red under their wings?"  "Yes, why?" she asked.  "I just saw one fly overhead."  "Good spotting!" she replied.  The other one I saw was a tricky little parrot.  I saw him on the ground, about 3 feet in the brush.  Well, of course, I pull out my camera.  The kaka then proceeds to bounce around, never keeping still and moving farther into the brush.  I couldn't get a picture.
Picture
A shag in its nest.
The last bird, my favorite, is very common in New Zealand: a tui.  Usually, they sound a bit like a cuckoo, but the range of noises they can make is incredible!  And, they are SO LOUD.  Tui have bright white feathers on their neck while the rest of their body is navy, black, and green.  This isn't my video, but here's what a Tui looks and sounds like:
Some special mentions of Zealandia:
  • The rare Takahe bird, which I luckily got to see
  • The cute Tuatara lizard that came out of it's little burrow to say hi
  • Crossing a shaky suspension bridge
  • Ordering my first flat white (A New Zealand/Australia specific coffee drink...basically a cappuccino without the foam)
  • Soft leaves on trees
  • Ferns everywhere!
PicturePart of he Wellington Botanic Gardens.
My last bit of adventuring took place in the Botanic Gardens and the walk back to the amazing hostel (Nomad).  The best way to get to the top of the Gardens is to take the Cable Car.  It's cheap, gives student discounts, and has a lovely view (both during the ride and at the top).  So, after the Cable Car, I went to the Carter Observatory.  Ever since I came to New Zealand, I have wanted to learn more about the stars in the Southern Hemisphere.  I couldn't have been happier after visiting the Observatory.  The zodiac goes straight across the sky, here (instead of just above the horizon) and the center of the milky way is a kiwibird!  Plus, Scorpio is also called Maui's hook.

Basically, Maui is a demi-god in the Maori creation stories.  The story goes, that one day his brothers went fishing and were going to leave Maui (the youngest) behind.  So, Maui hid in the canoe and once they were out at sea revealed himself ("Surprise!").  He then proceeded to fish with his brothers and pull up the entire North Island.  This story is one of the things I'm learning in my Maori Society class.  So far, that class has been the most useful when traveling around New Zealand!
After the star show, I mostly wandered.  I made my way down through the gardens, where the range of colors could never be captured by a painting or camera.  The sun peeked through the leaves, leaving patches of yellow everywhere.  My favorite part, though was towards the end...Have you ever been walking through a store and then BAM! you hit the perfume section?  A wall of scents each compete in your nose to win out as the strongest and it turns into a ghastly odor that you sprint through in order to escape.  Well, take that wall and replace it with all the best floral scents you have ever smelled.  But, instead of competing, the smells combine together to create the greatest perfume known to man.  That's what it was like stepping into the Fragrant Garden.
Picture
The Executive Wing Parliament building, the Beehive.
Anyways, the end of my Wellington days was rather uneventful.  I went to see the beehive and explore center city.  I had a wonderful vegetarian Japanese dinner (Teriyaki Udon and Tofu) with gelato from Caffee Eis.  I'm really going to miss feijoa.  It's a small, green, super sweet fruit that is eaten raw, put into chocolate, made into gelato flavors, etc.  I slept well (enough to sleep through the 5.6 magnitude earthquake) and took another early morning flight where I got to watch the sun rise and slowly spread light on the valleys below, which was bleeding yellow flowers and spotted with sheep.  The flight gave me plenty of time to run through all of the great memories I made in Wellington.  I'm going to miss that city!  

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.